The View from the Other Side

I am much aware that in every trip or travel you go on there are some highs and there are some lows. Usually the lows don’t happen right as the travels begin, but in this case sometimes they do. I can’t possibly go into detail (nor do I want to mentally relive) about all the struggles of the first week and a half here in Weimar. The key issues included not being able to get into our student accommodation the first day we were here. We lugged our luggage from one end of the city to the other to finally set into a hostel near the Hauptbahnhof (main train station)

Not only were was this barely our second day in Germany neither Kassandra, the other student from MCAD who is on the same programe, nor I can speak any German. My signature is down on a couple of contracts in which I have no idea what is said in them. There was some serious culture shock we experience the first few days, mostly which derived from out inability to speak the language. However, we learned quickly “eine Bratwurst, Bitte” , “Danke shone” , and “tschuss”. So we are polite and never hungry.

Where I live there is not even a option for my floor in the elevator, so I walk from the 11th floor to the 12th floor everyday. When I brought my luggage to its final destination, my apartment, my first thought was “what the hell am I going to do with all this room”. Our little apartments consist of 4 individual rooms and a shared 3 sinks, 1 toilet, and 1 shower. The two bedrooms on the sides are the largest and this is where I am. I have a bed, wardrobe, desk, kitchen table, 3 chairs, and a full refrigerator (Kassandra and I pulled out our designer brains and rearranged the room for maximum living comfort on our first Sunday here) However this is not my pride and joy of my room. That is the view. I can see for at least 7 km away and the large windows let the morning sun in to wake me promptly at 7 am. I bought a small pot of Narcissus and they bloomed the second day I got them. I can tell already I will have a hard time leaving this little room and the window that is clearly made for sitting at, watching, and drinking tea.

Leave a Reply

