Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag!

Today I turn 23 and a sunny, warm, and beautiful day it is to turn 23! I’ve spend the morning up in my Jakobsplan tower quietly drinking tea, editing pictures, and listening to French songs from the 50s. My window has been wide open all morning and i’m so thankful for the fresh air and the view I get every morning. Honestly though if I didn’t have facebook reminders I may have gone all afternoon until I really realized it was my birthday.

Being abroad makes it so easy to loose track of the time and of the day and it makes me think what is a birthday to me anymore? This is the 3rd birthday in a row I’ve spent abroad and I think this one so far as been the sweetest. A birthday is a good time to reflect, like you’re own personal New Years. I’ve had enough space in my world and in my mind to reflect on this one. Where I thought i’d be apprehensive about getting closer and closer to twenty five, I’m not, I’m appreciative of what i’ve already done in my life so far. I’ve done some things people won’t do in their entire lives. At a fairly reasonable pace I check things off of my bucket list, i’ve gone crazy, made some mistakes, met myself on the other-side of a plane ride,  and now i can appreciate silence, good conversation, good design, good beer, and interesting people. I’ve made friends I never thought I’d meet or never thought i’d be so connected to and they are scattered all over the world. I’ve made dreams that scare me and excite me all at the same time. I grew a hunger for my life, future, the world, and the people in it. I can only imagine what 30 will hold or 50 or 60 but I can’t wait to keep adding things and experiences to my life.

In German Happy Birthday is

“Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag” or “Congratulations on Your Birthday”

Soon Kassandra and I are going into Jena to explore and then going out to do some dancing with friends! It is a such a good day! Thank you for all of the people in my life that make it worth everything!

Gute Reise / Bon Voyage / Safe Travels

2 thoughts on “Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag!

  1. CONCEPTION: the distinctively human capacity to initiate a new beginning.
    BIRTH: the act or process of bearing or bringing forth
    DAY: period of existence or influence

    From the very day of conception to the very day of your birth….you were put into forward motion and expansion. I am so very happy to watch your life transformation. What a gift of spirit you are in my life. THANK YOU FOR BEING HERE AND OF COURSE………..I LOVE YOU!
    Mom.

Leave a Reply

