A little on little Weimar

I realize I’ve gone missing in action but it has taken about a month to get properly settled and not absolutely crazy mentally. Wow I can’t believe I’ve already been here a month! Only a month ago I couldn’t find Kassandra until we both we traveled all the way across Berlin twice each before we found each other. A month from the time we missed our first bus to Weimar and had to take the later coach which in turn caused us to be late for our housing check in. That night we slept in a hostel contemplating what the quickest way out of our new “Deutsch-situation”.

I am now living in the little town of Weimar in Deutschland’s state of Thuringia, east of Thuringia’s capital city Erfurt. Its cultural history is well impressive for sure. I can go visit the houses of my writer buddies Goetha and Shiller just a ten minute walk from my apartment. As well as walk around Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Oskar Shemmer, and Lyonel Feininger’s legacies. However I live in the Wiemar of 2012. My initial thought was how sleepy this town was, small, beautiful, but quite and slightly boring. Now as the days until semester starts the student atmosphere is picking up, not to mention the boys get better and better looking as well (this sure never hurt anyone).

Weimer is a typical cute Germany city. Its color palette is pastels that are reminiscent of the rococo era. Its pinks and blue-greys contrast beautifully with the black and white beam work in the architecture of the other buildings next door. I love walking to the park or to Uni on cobblestone streets and sidewalks (even though this has really been taking a toll on my shoes) it makes me wonder how can I ever go back home after being surrounded by this all?

*note on one constant thing so far here for me is the Thuringen Bratwurt. I think I may have fell in love with this the moment we got here. It is about a foot long cuddled into a Brotchen (little bread) and topped with ketchup and mustard. I’m not ashamed to say I crave them almost everyday, I mean seriously meat lovers please look at this….

Now i’m hungry…. and going to get one of these bad-boys!

Gute Reise!

Leave a Reply

